Log in


The Diseases of the Esophagus Journal awards were created in 2018 to recognize outstanding junior faculty members and help promote professional and educational interest in the esophagus and related diseases. Congratulations to the winners below. 

Diseases of the Esophagus Journal Awards

Outstanding junior faculty peer reviewers

The award is given by DOTE to the top junior faculty Peer Reviewer for the journal in the year prior. Winners are determined by the co-Editors in Chief of the journal.

Fredrik Klevebro, Karolinska Institutet, Department of Digestive Diseases, Stockholm, Sweden (2021)

Joonas Kauppila, University of Oulu, Finland, Sweden (2020)

Jessie Elliott, Trinity College, Ireland (2018)


The award is given by DOTE to the top original research manuscript by a junior faculty or trainee author accepted for publication in the journal the year prior.

Evangelos Tagkalos, University of Mainz, Department of General, Viszeral and Transplant Surgery, Germany (2021)

Prize winning paper: Robot-assisted minimally invasive esophagectomy (RAMIE) compared to conventional minimally invasive esophagectomy (MIE) for esophageal cancer: a propensity-matched analysis

Katrin Schwameis, University of Vienna/ Keck School of Medicine University of Southern California, Austria/USA (2020) 

Prize winning paperClinical outcome after laparoscopic Nissen fundoplication in patients with GERD and PPI refractory heartburn

Jose Vecente Arcose-Machancoses, Hospital Sant Joan de Dieu Barcelona, Spain (2018)

Prize winning paperA systematic review with meta-analysis of the prevalence of gastroesophageal reflux in congenital diaphragmatic hernia pediatric survivors

Affiliated Societies

International  Interdisciplinary  Everything Esophageal

The International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

General Inquiries: info@isde.net
Membership Questions: membership@isde.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software